Bliss Yoga and Wellness
Bliss Yoga & Wellness

A studio for everybody and every body

Discover the Seven Major Chakras

By In Yoga On October 25, 2010

The word chakra comes from the Sanskrit and means ‘spinning wheel’. Chakras are our energy centers. They are the openings for life energy to flow into and out of our aura. Their function is to vitalize the physical body and to bring about the development of our self-consciousness. They are associated with our physical, mental and emotional interactions.

There are seven major chakras to consider as we explore their impact on our well being. These swirling energy centers are situated along the spinal column and are located between the base of the spine and the crown of the head. In addition the chakras also correlate to levels of consciousness, developmental stages of life, colors, sounds, body functions, and more. We hope this information provides you with an educational and enjoyable journey.

Root Chakra:
The Root Chakra is Chakra one and is associated with the color red. Located at the base of the spine, this Chakra forms our foundation. It represents the element earth, and is therefore related to our survival instincts, and to our sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. Ideally this Chakra brings us health, prosperity, security, and dynamic presence.

Sacral Chakra:
The Sacral Chakra is Chakra two and is associated with the color orange or red-orange. Located in the abdomen, lower back, and sexual organs, it is related to the element water, and to emotions and sexuality. It connects us to others through feeling, desire, sensation, and movement. Ideally this Chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment, and the opportunity to lessen our “control issues” and find a balance in our lives.

Solar Plexus Chakra:
The Solar Plexus Chakra is Chakra three and is associated with the color yellow. This Chakra is known as the power Chakra and is the area which defines our “self-esteem”. It rules our personal power, will, and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When healthy, this Chakra brings us energy, effectiveness, spontaneity, and non-dominating power.

Heart Chakra:
The Heart Chakra is Chakra four and is associated with the color green or pink. The Heart Chakra and is the middle Chakra in a system of seven. It is related to love and is the integrator of opposites in the psyche: mind and body, male and female, persona and shadow, ego and unity. A healthy fourth Chakra allows us to love deeply, feel compassion, have a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

Throat Chakra:
The Throat Chakra is Chakra five and is associated with the color sky blue. This is the Chakra located in the throat and is thus related to communication and creativity. A challenge of the throat chakra is to express ourselves in the most truthful manner. Also to receive and assimilate information. Here we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.

Brow Chakra:
The Brow Chakra is Chakra six and is associated with the color indigo. This Brow Chakra is known as the “mind center” or “third eye center”. It is related to the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. As such it opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of mental and emotional issues. When healthy it allows us to see clearly, in effect, letting us “see the big picture.”

Crown Chakra:
The Crown Chakra is Chakra seven and is associated with the color violet or white. The Crown Chakra relates to consciousness as pure awareness. Some refer to it as a “god source.” It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless, spaceless place of all-knowing. When developed, this Chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection, and bliss.

Our body’s chakra system goes beyond the major seven chakras that are generally taught. Call (904) 276-3116 or e-mail Life’s Journey Yoga & Wellness to learn more.

About the Author

Bliss Yoga Wellness

Related Posts

1 Comment

  • Kimberli 8 YEARS AGO

    This ancient documentation is finally starting to be accepted in the mainstream Western medical community. Thermography scans can actually show heat or lack of heat in areas of the body. Often these chakra energy areas are blocked or overactive due to "stuck" emotions and too much stress in our daily lives. There are several non-invasive ways to balance the chakra system.

Leave a comment